Cameron Argetsinger

Before World War Two, professional street races, contests on circuits laid out on public roads, had grown in popularity in America in places like Bridgehampton Connecticut, and on Long Island. But shortly after Pearl Harbor all motor racing in America was put on hold. After the war, a young Cornell law student began an effort that would bring road racing back to America. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wjLr9FBQSc

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Schuyler County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Schuyler County Historical Society
International Motor Racing Research Library
Library of Congress

Freer's Glen, Circa 1863 | #tbt

Today’s throwback Thursday photograph is a stereographic image of Freer’s Glen, now Watkins Glen State Park, circa 1863. Stereograph photography was very popular during the 19th century. When viewed using a stereoscope, the two almost identical images mounted side-by-side created the illusion of depth, or 3D. Freer’s Glen opened to the public in 1863 as a privately run resort. The area was a popular tourist destination from the very beginning.

Elizabeth Barrett Rothschild

On April 15, 1912, the largest ship of its day, the Titanic, struck an iceberg and sank in the frigid waters of the North Atlantic. Among the 700 survivors plucked from the icy waters that fateful night was Elizabeth Rothschild of Watkins Glenn. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JL0JAabW1no

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Schuyler County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Schuyler County Historical Society
Library of Congress
Wikimedia Commons

International Motor Racing Research Center

Located in a town where American motor racing holds court, The International Motor Racing Research Center, on Decatur Street in the Village of Watkins Glen, houses an impressive collection of automotive history and memorabilia. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXCv7b8vQnQ

The center opened its doors to the public in 1999, and today continues its mission to be a world-class leader in the collection and preservation of motor racing heritage. Housed in a two-story brick building, the research center’s collection contains thousands of books, manuscripts, periodicals, and visual works from the history of both amateur and professional motor racing. Whether for the casual visitor or the ardent student of motor sports, the International Motor Racing Research Center offers a wonderful opportunity to learn while having fun along New York’s Path Through History. Photos Courtesy of:
International Motor Racing Research Library

True Love Schooner

In the early days of the twentieth century, the social elite of the world built and sailed magnificent pleasure boats to and from their vacation play-lands. Those days may seem a world away but on Seneca Lake in Schuyler County visitors can travel back to the jazz era when they take an excursion cruise on the “True Love” Schooner. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3RdI8JwgCs

Berthed in Watkins Glen, this 1926 John Alden Malabar VII Schooner has been lovingly restored to its former glory. In the 1950s, The True Love sailed the seas of the Caribbean, and die-hard moviegoers will recognize it as the vessel that Bing Crosby and Grace Kelly sailed on in the film High Society. Today, the True Love sails on Seneca Lake, and visitors can once again feel the breeze through their hair and the mist of the waves on their face at this water bound stop on New York’s Path Through History.

Catharine Valley Trail

In the heart of Schuyler County, nestled just south of Seneca Lake, is Catharine Valley Trail. Here both lovers of nature and history can come together to enjoy the serene beauty of the upstate area. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4wXhyUdwIE

Visitors can trek the nine-mile long trail, which follows abandoned rail lines and former Chemung Canal towpaths, as they traverse through several wildlife habitats in the beautiful outdoors. The trail accommodates both pedestrians and bicyclers, and in the winter months the path is open to cross-county skiers and snowshoers. In the near future the trail will be extended in length and visitors will be able to walk from Watkins Glen to Horseheads.

Watkins Glen State Park

In the heart of the Finger Lakes region lays a magnificent series of gorges and waterfalls that highlight the beauty and power of nature to the visitors of the Watkins Glen State Park in Schuyler County. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N75jau2mQWI

Opened in 1863, the park was first operated as a privately run tourist resort. In 1906, the park was purchased by the State of New York and has evolved into one of the States most popular public attractions. Park visitors can follow a two-mile trail as it snakes its way through a four hundred foot change in elevation, and witness the beauty of nineteen different waterfalls like the Cavern Cascade with its beautiful vistas. The Glen’s camping grounds, Olympic size pool and other amenities help make the stay memorable, but the opportunity to watch thunderous waters as they power their way toward the bottom of the glen cutting through rock and stone make the visit unforgettable.

Watkins Glen Commerical Historic District

In 2011, both New York State and the Federal Government recognized the creation of the Watkins Glen Commercial Historic District in Schuyler County. This historic district encompasses 34 impressive buildings that detail the growth of this community during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KEEPB4zfeP8

Running mainly along Franklin Street, between First and Fourth Streets in the village, visitors can walk past structures like the Village Hall and the former Hotel Kendal. The unique Flatiron Building denotes architecture not seen elsewhere in the region, and The Freer Opera House, first owned by George Freer, one of Watkins Glen most important early residents, brought entertainment to visitors and residents alike. While the Durand Building once housed the Seneca Lake General Store, and the former Watkins State Bank building, built in 1911, is a can’t miss stop for lovers of Classical Revival architecture.