Inspector Lewis Season 8 On Masterpiece


In the series’ anticipated final season, Kevin Whately and Laurence Fox return as Inspector Lewis and Inspector Hathaway, investigating new cases of murder and other crimes in the seemingly perfect academic haven of Oxford. In three new films, the detectives must contend with complex cases, new faces on the force, and old wounds from family ties. With a new boss piling on pressure, will Inspector Lewis finally decide to end his policing career?

Inspector Lewis Season 8 on Masterpiece

“One for Sorrow” airs Sunday, August 7, 2016 at 9:00pm.

Learn if Lewis, who needs to prove himself to a new boss, and Hathaway can establish a connection between the remains of a body discovered in a well and the death of a young artist. Hathaway finally gets to know his estranged father.


“Magnum Opus” airs Sunday, August 14, 2016 at 9:00 pm.

An Oxford college dean is found bludgeoned to death following a heated debate in a pub. An alchemic image purposefully left at the crime scene leads Lewis and Hathaway to anticipate that more murders will follow. An unusual tattoo on the dean’s body and the bodies of two more victims leads to a discovery and a frantic effort to prevent another murder. Meanwhile, Hathaway is struggling to accept his father’s illness.


“What Lies Tangled” airs Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 9:00 pm.

When an eminent mathematician is killed in a bomb attack, Lewis and Hathaway quickly discover the victim was a notorious philanderer with many enemies. When a bomb is discovered at the home of the victim’s brother, also a mathematician, the case moves in another direction. Then a chemistry professor is murdered. Meanwhile, Lewis’ long-planned trip with his girlfriend is put in jeopardy.



Photo Credit: Courtesy of (C) ITV Studios/MASTERPIECE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *