The old water-powered mill on Kortright Creek in East Meredith has been in operation since 1846. Named after David Josiah Hanford, who purchased the mill in 1860, Hanford Mills quickly expanded into a complex that included a sawmill, gristmill, feed-mill, woodworking shop and hardware store. Eventually, the mill also provided electric power to the surrounding community.
Shortly after the mill business closed in 1967, the site reopened as a museum, and in 1973 was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Since then Hanford Mills Museum has provided visitors a rare opportunity to see an authentic mill in operation and learn about the important role mills played in rural New York communities. Today, the historic site includes 16 buildings and maintains a substantial collection of over 50,000 items, including photographs, documents, machinery, tools and other objects.
“The Power of the Past” is the descriptive slogan for this 19th century mill that harnessed the power of water and produced materials and electricity for a rural community. Today, visitors can witness that Power of the Past first hand, at this unique stop on New York’s Path Through History.
Photos Courtesy of:
Delaware County Historical Association
Hanford Mills Museum