This graceful brick structure on West Morris Street in the town of Bath has a long and storied history.
The impressive home was built 1828, by John Magee, a prominent member of the burgeoning community. It remained a private residence for 65 years, until the Davenport Library occupied the space in 1893. In 1999, the building became the headquarters of the Steuben County Historical Society. Today, the historical society continues its mission to collect and preserve the historical artifacts of Steuben County and to make its collections relevant to the community through exhibits, lectures, and special educational events.
Along with being the historical society’s home, the Magee house also includes the county historian’s office and historical archives. While here, visitors can peruse The Elm Cottage collection of preserved historical objects or checkout the Chelsea Liliane Kelly Children’s Museum and Library on the first floor.
For nearly two centuries the Magee House has served the residence of Steuben County, and today it is another educational stop on New York’s Path Through History.
Photos Courtesy of:
Steuben County Historical Society