Newark Valley Depot


It was 1870, when freight and passenger railroad service began in Newark Valley. The Southern Central Railroad, later the Lehigh Valley Railroad, brought continued service to the area for one hundred years. Today, the original train depot has been restored and now serves as a museum of railroad artifacts and memorabilia. An HO scale replica of the Tioga County segment of the Lehigh Valley Railroad is one of the most popular permanent exhibits of the museum.

The depot is located in the picturesque rural village of Newark Valley on the East Branch of Owego Creek. Just over the bridge and within walking distance of the depot is the Village Green — a beautifully landscaped park where flower gardens, antique lampposts and a bandstand are surrounded by historic buildings, including the Tappan-Spaulding Memorial Library and Newark Valley Municipal Building, both listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

No longer a stop on the old Lehigh Valley Railroad, the Newark Valley Depot is now a very important stop on New York’s Path Through History.

Photos Courtesy of:
Newark Valley History Society
Tioga County Historical Society