Tioga County Chair Elected As NYS Association of Counties President


BINGHAMTON, NY (WSKG) — Tioga County Legislative Chair Martha Sauerbrey was sworn in this week as the president of the New York State Association of Counties (NYSAC). The association announced her term begins immediately and runs through September 2022.

NYSAC President Martha ‘Marte’ Sauerbrey swearing the oath of office at NYSAC’s Fall Seminar, September 14, 2021. (Provided by NYSAC)

“I’m honored that my peers in county government have elected me to serve this great organization at this critical time,” said Sauerbrey.

She added counties need a voice as state leaders respond to new COVID challenges and rebuild local economies.

Sauerbrey has chaired the Tioga Legislative Board since 2014. She was elected First Vice President for the NYSAC in 2019, and now succeeds John Marren of Ontario County as NYSAC president.

“Her ability to bring people together, commitment, and vision for creating more effective, efficient and inclusive county governments will make her a vital asset as leader to this great organization,” Marren said of Sauerbrey.

NYSAC represents the state’s county legislators, supervisors, executives, administrators, commissioners and others before federal and state officials.