Willis Sharpe Kilmer

In 1890, Willis Sharpe Kilmer arrived in Binghamton, New York where he took over the advertising department of the family patent medicine business. Young Willis devised a new and extremely effective print campaign that turned one of the companies many products, Dr. Kilmer’s Swamp Root Kidney Liver and Bladder Cure, into a household name. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWE4nnhSckM

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Broome County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Broome County Historical Society

David Maydole

In 1845, David Maydole, invented a “adze eye” hammer and began producing them out of his small shop in Norwich. The unique design keep the striking head firmly attached to the handle and kept the two parts from separating. The hammer was an immediate sensation with workers and Maydole began taking orders from across the state. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dn5D2wPhbG0

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Chenango County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Chenango County Historical Society
Library of Congress

Willard and Harlow Bundy

In 1888, while living in Binghamton, New York, Willard Bundy invented and patented a new mechanical time recorder, called The Time Clock. His device allowed workers to record their hours by using a card to punch in and out. Willard’s younger brother Harlow encouraged Willard to mass producer his invention, and in 1889 the two brothers organized the Bundy Manufacturing Company. Their business quickly became one of the largest industries in the Binghamton area, employing around 135 skilled workers, and eventually becoming part of IBM. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYWsHz59DNo

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Jay Gould

During the late 19th century, industrial robber barons dominated the political and economic landscape of America. These wealthy businessmen used shrewd and sometimes exploitive practices to put their competition out of business, create monopolies, and influence politicians all while amassing huge fortunes. Jay Gould, an upstate New York native, would become one of the greatest robber barons of his day. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pdn4v8tt0LI

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Delaware County Historical Association

Photos Courtesy of:
Delaware County Historical Association
Library of Congress
Wikimedia Commons

Theodore Burr

Theodore Burr, the cousin of vice president Aaron Burr, arrived in Oxford, New York in 1792. He was an engineer, inventor and the namesake of a bridge design that made covered bridges more stable and capable of supporting heavier loads. Burr’s design combined two different techniques, arch and truss, to create a new and durable type of structure. Sometime around 1804, Burr built the first “sizable bridge” crossing on the Hudson River, at Waterford, New York and is also credited with building the first stringer bridge across the Chenango River at Oxford. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVCzJnvipcQ

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Hanford Mills Museum

The old water-powered mill on Kortright Creek in East Meredith has been in operation since 1846. Named after David Josiah Hanford, who purchased the mill in 1860, Hanford Mills quickly expanded into a complex that included a sawmill, gristmill, feed-mill, woodworking shop and hardware store. Eventually, the mill also provided electric power to the surrounding community. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGE1UUtWAZw

Shortly after the mill business closed in 1967, the site reopened as a museum, and in 1973 was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Since then Hanford Mills Museum has provided visitors a rare opportunity to see an authentic mill in operation and learn about the important role mills played in rural New York communities.

The Delaware and Ulster Railroad

The picturesque Delaware and Ulster Railroad tour through the Catskill Region has been called “the most scenic rail line in the east.” Starting at the station in the hamlet of Arkville, the two-hour excursion follows the rails north to the town of Roxbury and back. Built in1872, the Roxbury station includes a museum of local history, and as part of the depot complex, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The 24-mile round trip follows the same path that once moved coal and commercial goods throughout the area, and guided vacationers to the grand lodges of the Catskills until the train was replaced by the automobile. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJXtEnrecYw

Today, as in the past, passengers might enjoy a gourmet meal in an Art Deco dining car, or ride in one of the open-air or glass-covered observation cars, all the while taking in the incomparable views of the Catskill Mountains and the picturesque East Branch of the Delaware River.

Parkview Restaurant

Built in 1867, the Dugan House served as a popular hotel in Owego for many years. Located just steps from Courthouse Square and overlooking the scenic Susquehanna River, the upper floor of the hotel included a long balcony where residents could relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the surrounding area. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QKeYYFmohXc

Over the years the hotel played an integral part in the growing community of Tioga County. There is a rich history associated with the hotel and many fascinating stories about the dignitaries and outlaws who passed through its doors. Today, known as Parkview Restaurant, the old hotel serves as a restaurant and tavern, where locals and travelers can enjoy good company, good food, and a piece of local history on New York’s Path Through History.

Pumpelly House Estate

On the sloping banks of the Susquehanna River in Owego, stands a magnificent Georgian-style home and carriage house known as the Pumpelly House Estate. Built in 1902, by Gurden Pumpelly and his wife Kia, the house remained in the Pumpelly family for over 70 years and now serves as a bed and breakfast. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OH2rgnxWjdw
The Pumpelly family originally settled in Owego in the early 1800s. They were significant landowners, and the family prospered through their involvement in the timber and tobacco industries. By the late 1800’s, Gurden Pumpelly had achieved great success as a leaf tobacco farmer and dealer, and at the turn of the 19th century, he decided to retire with his wife to their grand new home in town,.

Calaboose Grille

Built in 1910, the Tioga County Jail quickly drew criticism from locals. Many believed the prison was too attractive and cozy to be an effective deterrent to crime. A newspaper column from the time claimed that people would deliberately commit crimes in order to live in comfort in the new jail. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9JiGxEhaMY

Located on Court Street in Owego, the old county jail housed prisoners for over eighty years, until 1997 when it was purchased by a local developer and renovated. Four years later the repurposed building opened as a restaurant and bar.

Grand Central Station

It was December 1831, when a convention was held in Owego to discuss the creation of a new railroad. Established the following year, the Erie Railroad would stretch nearly 450 miles from the Hudson River, through the Southern Tier, to Lake Erie. In 1849, an excursion train made the first run, travelling 237 miles from New York City to Owego. On its arrival in Owego, the passengers, including several VIP dignitaries, dined at the newly constructed Erie Station. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qSlzNNITHU

Several years later the original station was destroyed by fire and a new brick station was rebuilt on the same spot.

Owego Historical District

Located along the Susquehanna River, Owego is one of the most picturesque small towns in New York State. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Owego Central Historic District encompasses 85 buildings, including the 1828 Owego Academy, Village Firehouse, Courthouse and Post Office. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7OBl6JbTW4w

Quaint shops and restaurants make up the Riverow Commercial Complex, a collection of Greek Revival and Italianate buildings lining the river’s edge. Viewed from the highway across the river, the County Courthouse, Riverow Complex, tall church steeples, and Court Street Bridge combine to form a spectacular image of this historic and inviting small town. Recently voted the Coolest Small Town in America, Owego, with its historic district of architectural treasures is definitely one of the Coolest Small Towns on New York’s Path Through History.

Market Street Historic District

In 1972, Hurricane Agnes devastated the downtown area of in the city of Corning. Not to be defeated by Mother Nature, the people of Corning came together to repair their city and grow as a community. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1V9c-j5eTKo

The Market Street Historic District was created in 1974 and is recognized as part of the National Register of Historic Places. Focused on the area’s long industrial history, this district encompasses a variety of architectural styles amidst buildings that have moved from industrial to retail. In 2000, the boundaries of the district were enlarged and it now includes part of the Gaffer District—a term based on the glassblowing history of Corning.

Corning Museum of Glass

In 1851, Armory Houghton founded the Bay State Glass Co. in Somerville, Massachusetts. Seventeen years later, the company, now under a new name, relocated to Corning, New York. Corning Glass Works, now Corning Incorporated, has continued to produce high quality glass at this location for over 140 years. In 1951, to celebrate its 100th anniversary, the company created the Corning Museum of Glass; one of the largest museums dedicated solely to telling the history and heritage of one product — glass.

Costa Flying Service

From inventors of aviation technology to gliders that soar above the valleys, Steuben County is rich in aviation history. The Costa Flying Service, located at the Corning-Painted Post Airport, has been in operation for 80 years. Founded in the1930s by aviation pioneer, Joseph A. Costa, the Costa Flying Service has provided all ranges of air travel and education for the Corning area. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EgKrSq4ihI
As New York’s oldest flying service, Costa continues to take visitors up into the clouds and give them a birds-eye-view of our region’s many natural wonders. Visitors can also choose to grab the controls for themselves and learn to soar with the birds.

Greyton H. Taylor Wine Museum

In the heart of winemaking country, in the Finger Lakes region, stands a unique museum dedicated to the history and beauty of an ancient enterprise. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_G7IRjISzY

In 1966, Walter Taylor opened Bully Hill Vineyards at Hammondsport in Steuben County. A year later, two additional buildings were opened as the “Finger Lakes Wine Museum.” In 1972, Taylor renamed the museum after his father, Greyton H. Taylor. In one building, called the Cooper Shop, visitors can study a large collection of tools used in the barrel and winemaking industries.