Corning

Between 1789 and 1792, the first white settlers began to arrive in the Chemung River valley near the present-day city of Corning. They used waterpower to fuel numerous sawmills – cutting lumber that was shipped to cities as far away as Baltimore. In 1833, the Chemung and Feeder Canal helped connect this new community to additional markets, and the arrival of the railroad by the 1850s spurred further development. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjQy7Y2cVek

Funding provided by a grant from Empire State Development.

Bath

In 1793, Colonel Charles Williamson, a land agent for Sir William Pulteney of Bath, England, saw the valley at the head of the Cohocton River in Upstate New York as an ideal location for a new village. In 1796, the community of Bath was formed, and the village was first incorporated 1816, but was not organized until 1836. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRRvmnyFR4g

Funding provided by a grant from Empire State Development.

Hammondsport

At the head of Keuka Lake in Steuben County sits the village of Hammondsport. Settled in 1796, it was first surveyed in 1808, by Judge Lazarus Hammond. Hammond saw potential in this new settlement, but growth was slow until the opening of the Crooked Lake Canal in 1833 allowed the community to be connected with the Erie Canal. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odSFJY34RWQ

Funding provided by a grant from Empire State Development.

James "Deacon" White

James White was a teenager living in his hometown of Caton, New York when he first learned to play baseball from a group of Civil War veterans. By all accounts, White was a natural athlete and ball player. By the 1870s there were enough professional teams in the country to start a league. On May 4, 1871 James “Deacon” White made history when he had the hit during the first at-bat, in the first major league all-professional baseball game. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcaW7j5j4m4

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

John Kennedy

On the night of October 12, 1812 a contingent of New York Militia rowed silently across the treacherous Niagara River near the Canadian village of Queenston. For five months war had been raging between Great Britain and America, and this small group of volunteers was the lead element of an American invasion of Canada. Among the first group of militiamen across the river that night was young ensign from Steuben County named John Kennedy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdN7u0H-GCg

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.  

Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Steuben County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Steuben County Historical Society
Library of Congress

Glenn H. Curtiss

In 1908, five years after the Wright Brothers first flight at Kitty Hawk, most Americans had still never seen an airplane in flight. But on July 4th of that year, another bicycle maker, this one from Hammondsport New York, changed all that. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WH1EOW25CNE

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Steuben County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Steuben County Historical Society
Library of Congress

Benjamin Bennitt

On April 12, 1861, confederate forces opened fire on Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor and America was thrust into Civil War. Three days later President Lincoln called for 75,000 volunteers to put down the rebellion, and individuals from across the Southern Tier answered the call. The first person to enlist from Urbana, New York was Benjamin Bennitt. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMJG6X_UF-Y

‘Uniquely New York’ is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Links:
Path Through History
WSKG’s Path Through History
Steuben County Historical Society

Photos Courtesy of:
Steuben County Historical Society
Library of Congress

Family Chores | #tbt

Today’s throwback Thursday photograph shows a group of young children hard at work on their family’s Steuben County farm. From a very young age, children were asked to contribute to the daily chores on the farm. Some of these tasks were essential to keeping the farm productive and in operation. They included milking the cows, checking the chicken coop for eggs, and even mucking out the barn stalls. However, many of these children also enjoyed a great amount of responsibility and freedom in their lives on the farm.

James "Deacon" White

Play

James “Deacon” White was born in Canton, NY in 1847. On May 4, 1871, White had the first hit during the first at bat in the first all professional major league baseball game. He is considered to be one of the greatest catchers during the era when baseball became America’s pastime. He was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2013. Learn more about White, including how he got the nickname “Deacon,” in this conversation between WSKG’s Sarah Gager and Shane Johnson.

Half A World Away and 70 Years Later, A Soldier's Sacrifice Remembered

In 1943, 2nd Lt. Joseph P. Congelli, a native of Hornell, New York and a member of the “Mighty Eighth” 8th Air Force, was shot down while he returned from a mission over Osnabruck, Germany. Today, a Dutch citizen has adopted Congelli’s name at the Wall of the Missing in Margraten, Netherlands. In an effort to learn more about his adopted soldier, Peter Cootjans reached out to WSKG, and this is what we discovered. THE WALL OF THE MISSING

This past Memorial Day, as the familiar sound of taps played at cemeteries across the United States, in the Netherlands, thousands of Dutch citizens gathered to decorate the graves and memorials of nearly 10,000 U.S. service members in the Netherlands American Cemetery.

Market Street Historic District

In 1972, Hurricane Agnes devastated the downtown area of in the city of Corning. Not to be defeated by Mother Nature, the people of Corning came together to repair their city and grow as a community. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1V9c-j5eTKo

The Market Street Historic District was created in 1974 and is recognized as part of the National Register of Historic Places. Focused on the area’s long industrial history, this district encompasses a variety of architectural styles amidst buildings that have moved from industrial to retail. In 2000, the boundaries of the district were enlarged and it now includes part of the Gaffer District—a term based on the glassblowing history of Corning.

Glenn H. Curtiss Museum

The Glenn H. Curtiss Museum, which celebrates the memory of a pioneer of the land and air is located just a few miles south of Hammondsport in Steuben County. Born in Hammondsport in 1878, Glenn Curtiss became the fastest man on earth in 1907, when he reached 136 miles per hour his revolutionary motorcycle. Not content with his success on the ground, the next year Curtiss set his sights on the sky. As a member of the Aerial Experiment Association, Curtiss piloted his first plan in 1908, and spent the next few years developing better avionics technology. Curtiss later pioneered the design of seaplanes and became know as the father of Naval aviation.

Stony Brook State Park

Located near the site of a former Native American settlement, Stony Brook State Park in Steuben County offers visitors a variety of ways to enjoy the great outdoors. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAD-alqoNuk

At the start of the 19th century, the first pioneers to the area found the rapid waters of Stony Brook Creek ripe for early mill operations. Eventually, local residents developed a private park around the creek and its series of waterfalls. The arrival of the railroad in the 1880s turned the surrounding community into a popular summer destination and the remnants of former train trestles as still visible in the park. However, as tourism declined the park fell into disrepair, and the state purchased it in 1928.

Benjamin Patterson Inn

Located in Corning, the Benjamin Patterson Inn once gave weary travelers on New York’s frontier a comfortable place to rest and relax. Built in 1796 by Benjamin and Sarah Patterson, the inn sat along the old Williamson Road, now US Route 15, and the Chemung River. These two arteries of travel brought countless visitors to the Patterson’s Inn. However, during the 20th century the inn slowly fell into disrepair. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fl9F5EVnFkE

In 1976, the Corning Painted Post Historical Society rescued the former inn and restored it to its former colonial glory, including full period furniture and belongings.

Corning Museum of Glass

In 1851, Armory Houghton founded the Bay State Glass Co. in Somerville, Massachusetts. Seventeen years later, the company, now under a new name, relocated to Corning, New York. Corning Glass Works, now Corning Incorporated, has continued to produce high quality glass at this location for over 140 years. In 1951, to celebrate its 100th anniversary, the company created the Corning Museum of Glass; one of the largest museums dedicated solely to telling the history and heritage of one product — glass.

Steuben County Historical Society

This graceful brick structure on West Morris Street in the town of Bath has a long and storied history. The impressive home was built 1828, by John Magee, a prominent member of the burgeoning community. It remained a private residence for 65 years, until the Davenport Library occupied the space in 1893. In 1999, the building became the headquarters of the Steuben County Historical Society. Today, the historical society continues its mission to collect and preserve the historical artifacts of Steuben County and to make its collections relevant to the community through exhibits, lectures, and special educational events.

Costa Flying Service

From inventors of aviation technology to gliders that soar above the valleys, Steuben County is rich in aviation history. The Costa Flying Service, located at the Corning-Painted Post Airport, has been in operation for 80 years. Founded in the1930s by aviation pioneer, Joseph A. Costa, the Costa Flying Service has provided all ranges of air travel and education for the Corning area. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EgKrSq4ihI
As New York’s oldest flying service, Costa continues to take visitors up into the clouds and give them a birds-eye-view of our region’s many natural wonders. Visitors can also choose to grab the controls for themselves and learn to soar with the birds.

Pinnacle State Park

The beautiful vistas of the Canisteo River Valley are on full display at Pinnacle State Park near Addison in Steuben County. Here visitors can enjoy a unique blend tranquil relaxation and sportsmanship as this picturesque upstate destination. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCuYAPiTHh8

A member of New York’s robust state park system, Pinnacle offers park goers both breathtaking views and number of recreational activities. Golfers will enjoy a round on the challenging nine-hole golf course, while hikers can tackle the eleven miles of trails that transverse the park. And in the winter the park is open to cross-county skiers.

Greyton H. Taylor Wine Museum

In the heart of winemaking country, in the Finger Lakes region, stands a unique museum dedicated to the history and beauty of an ancient enterprise. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_G7IRjISzY

In 1966, Walter Taylor opened Bully Hill Vineyards at Hammondsport in Steuben County. A year later, two additional buildings were opened as the “Finger Lakes Wine Museum.” In 1972, Taylor renamed the museum after his father, Greyton H. Taylor. In one building, called the Cooper Shop, visitors can study a large collection of tools used in the barrel and winemaking industries.